Field Trip

A field trip to Publix (grocery) and the Fire station (I’ll talk about the Fire Station in my next post) didn’t sound like too much fun.  But I volunteered to go and help out.  I go at least 2-3 times a week to Publix what could my children  possibly learn?  First stop, get your plastic bag for all the goodies that publix had for us.  We started in the pharmacy and this lady had 2 large prescription bottles.  She asked for volunteers and then asked the first child to try and open the cap off of the bottle.  Too hard.  Then she asked the other child to do the same with the other bottle…too easy.  The big lesson… Your parents want us to provide them with the hard opener so that you kids can’t get in them.  Goody bag treat #1:  A publix coloring book and a small box of crayons (these are free items that Publix has to the public in their customer service counter).  Onto my favorite the bakery.  Well actually we did a loop and allowed the other class to go to the bakery while we pressed our hands against the deli window, mmm all that meat!  We saw what ham was then moved back into the bakery where a lady was ready to ice a cake.  She quickly iced the cake (she pulled it out of the freezer and actually I asked where these cakes were baked and she said at Publix’s main warehouse).  This was a little disappointing to me as I though all cakes were made on site.  Oh well, she showed us how to make roses out of frosting, the kids woo’d and ahhh’d for about a minute and then onward, treat #2 a free cookie (which they offer on a daily basis with folks that have kids).   Our next stop was produce, the produce manager climbed up a step ladder and decided to show children “rain”..seriously?  My children know that that is not rain, but he kept on with ” look kids its raining, its raining right here on all these vegetables…” more woos and ahhhs, treat #3 an unwashed apple.  Next stop, the butcher section, “get your hands off those coolers, haven’t you kids heard of salmonella?”  The kids stood and watched a man butcher a whole chicken, instead of woos and ahhs there were yuck and yuck!!  But the butcher kept on going, dangling a thigh, showing us the split breast and he even pulled out the innards pack and said to the kids..this is for gravy, thank good ness we didn’t receive treat #4 from him.  Moving on to the final destination—DAIRY.  Not much to say except “do you kids like yogurt?”  At that point each child received the final treat — 1 string cheese.  I’m not really sure if the kids had fun or not, I guess I’ll ask them later tonight.

One thought on “Field Trip

  1. hilarious. i love it. almost as exciting as going myself. did you effeciently multitask and buy anything while you were there? me thinks you probably did.

Leave a comment